Prepayment in the online booking widget

Altegio's capabilities allow for accepting online prepayments for services through the online booking widget. You can configure online prepayment for the services and/or employees you select.

Important
Altegio does not charge a fee for payments; the bank's commission depends on the chosen partner.

Online Payment Statuses

Online prepayment can be:

Obligatory prepayment — the client will not be able to book online without paying for the services.

Unobligatory prepayment — payment is not required for online booking.

These statuses need to be configured for specific services or employees if obligatory payment is required.

Also, for all services of a location, unobligatory payment in the form (via a link) for online booking can be enabled. Unobligatory payment allows the client to choose whether to pay for the booking online or on-site. For unobligatory payments, it is not necessary to configure statuses for services or employees separately.

In this article, we will look at the general settings and the setup of obligatory payments in the online booking widget. 

Payment can be "Enabled" (obligatory) for a specific service/employee or "Disabled", with the active setting taking priority.

If online prepayment is enabled for a service but disabled for an employee, then online prepayment for services will be mandatory in the online booking widget, regardless of the employee's payment settings. The client will not be able to book without paying for the services.

If obligatory online prepayment is set up for an employee, then online prepayment will be mandatory for all the services they provide in the widget. In this case, for services, the payment must be either "Disabled" (unobligatory) or "Enabled" (obligatory).

 

How the Payment Amount is Formulated

• If online prepayment is disabled for a service but enabled in the employee settings, then the full cost will be charged (at the minimum price if the price is within a range).
• If online prepayment is enabled (obligatory) for a service, then the payment amount will be in accordance with the service setting (partial or full).

 

Setup

Sign a contract with a provider to accept online payments. Enter your company's details in the online booking widget.To pass moderation by the payment system, it's essential to fill out the contacts and details of the company for display on the location information page via the online booking link.

Go to Settings > My location > Location information.

Fill in the information on the "Contact details" tab.


On the "Description" tab, add the details of the legal entity or sole proprietor: name, Tax Identification Number (TIN), and Primary State Registration Number if applicable.
After signing the contract with the provider, carry out the basic settings on the Altegio side in the section Finance > Online payments > Online prepayment, detailed instructions are provided in the article.

Configure the payment statuses for services and/or employees in the settings of each service/employee or in the section Finance > Online payments > Online prepayment.
By default, online prepayment is disabled for all services and employees, meaning payment is not required for online booking.

If online prepayment is enabled for a service or employee, then payment will be mandatory for online booking; the client will not be able to book until they have paid for the service. The cost is taken from the minimum price listed in the service settings.
Partial prepayment can be configured for individual services, while for employees, only full prepayment — 100% — can be set up.

Configuring Services

In the "Obligatory prepayment" section, click the "Services" button.

Expand the desired category, select a service by clicking on the pencil icon to edit.

In the service settings, in the Online booking section, enable the Online prepayment option.

Below, specify the payment parameters. Prepayment can be indicated as a percentage and in currency. The prepayment amount is calculated from the minimum cost of the service. You can set up full or partial prepayment. Click the "Save" button.

Important

Partial prepayment is only configured for individual services. For group events, prepayment can only be 100%.

 

Configuring Employees

In the "Obligatory prepayment" section, click on the "Specialists" button.

Expand the desired position, select an employee by clicking on their name.

In the employee's settings, go to the Online booking section and tick the box next to the Online prepayment function.

Click the "Save" button.

Choose the payment waiting period — from 5 to 60 minutes, in 5-minute intervals. The default payment waiting time is set to 15 minutes. The appointment is reserved for the selected time, and if the client does not manage to pay within this time, it will be automatically canceled.

If you have a tight schedule, it's advised to allow no more than 15 minutes for payment so that more clients can book appointments. Choosing more than 15 minutes of waiting time will give your clients more available time to make the payment online.

After creating an online booking, the client will see that their appointment is awaiting payment, as well as how much time they have left to make the payment.

Click the "Save" or "Connect" button if you have not yet activated the payment method.

What will Change in the Widget Appearance?

After configuring online payment settings, the appearance and functionality of the online booking widget will change as follows:

• Services or employees with online prepayment will be marked with corresponding tags in the online booking widget.

• When making an appointment, your clients will see the details of the booking and the amount to be paid.

• After clicking the "Pay" button, the client will be directed to the payment system, where they can pay for the services.

• After payment, the client can return to the online booking widget and see the status of the payment and the details of their booking.

If the payment is not received within 15 minutes (this time is set by default if no other time was selected in the online prepayment settings), the booking created in the log will be automatically deleted.

Comments